Skip links

Asian Cities

The IUC Asia programme works with cities from Europe and Asia in different areas:

  • Sustainable Urban Development: Cross-city pairings between European and Chinese cities
  • Energy and Climate Action: Cities from China, the Republic of Korea, Vietnam, Indonesia and Malaysia

Participating Asian Cities


  • Cities: Hang Tuah Jaya, Kota Kinabalu, Penampang, Tawau, Muar
  • Technical Support provided by UTM – Technical University of Malaysia


  • Cities: Denpasar, Makassar, Malang, Depok, Palembang
  • Technical Support provided by CCROM – Centre for Climate Risk and Opportunity Management in Southeast Asia Pacific


  • Cities: Tam Ky, Da Nang, Can Tho
  • Technical Support provided by UN HABITAT

Republic of Korea:

  • Cities: Gwangju Metropolitan City and Chungcheongnam-do Province.
  • Technical Support provided by KEI, Korea Environment Institute
Return to top of page